You Homeschooling Types

    By Elizabeth Veldboom

    homeschoolAs I thought about writing a blog post for this week, I have to admit I felt a little unnerved. After all, this is a place for homeschooling/alternative schooling parents. Considering I’m twenty one and single, I don’t really fit that description.

    I wondered, “What can I offer to homeschooling parents? I’ve never been one.” I worried I wouldn’t have anything of interest or importance to say.

    But then I realized, hey-I’ve spent twenty plus years observing these people. I got this.

    Being homeschooled myself, I’ve watched both Garden School parents and my own mom tackle this whole homeschooling thing. And trust me-there are some stories I could tell on you people.

    Yeah, that’s right. I know stuff. In fact, you wouldn’t believe the kind of stuff I got on you. I know what goes on behind closed doors.

    You homeschooling types are absolutely, 100%, without a doubt: some of the most amazing people I know.

    Surprised? Me too. But it’s true.

    If twenty one years of observing has taught me anything about you, it’s taught me this: you are some of the greatest people. You are so selfless and loving and smart. You’re brave and strong in a world that tells you you’re doing it all wrong. You’re kind and generous with your time. You would do anything in the world for your kids, and half of the time they don’t even know you exist.

    You’d sacrifice just about anything to see them succeed. You spend hours at night trying to learn Latin, or Algebra, or Quantum Physics, just so you can teach it to your kids in the morning. You cook and clean and parent and teach, and then you get up and do it all over again the next day.

    You might feel invisible. Unappreciated. On really bad days, maybe even unloved.

    But as a former homeschooled student, let me offer you some hope.

    There were many times my mom went unseen by me, too. But you are teaching your kids some of the greatest lessons they will ever know in life, and it doesn’t come from a book, but from the heart. You’re teaching them how to care for another human being with all the strength they possess. To selflessly sacrifice and give of themselves for the well-being of another. To love, and give, and give again.

    One day they’ll see. One day they’ll be old enough to tell you how much it meant. But if they’re not saying it yet, let me: you are making a difference. You are so loved, honored, admired, and cherished. It’s not easy what you do. And you can’t always see the reward.

    But dear Mama or Daddy, allow me to let you in on a secret: you are the reward.

    Yeah, I know about you homeschooling types all right. You are some of the craziest, most masochistic, insane people I know.

    And I want to be just like you when I grow up.

    Your Turn: What inspires you to keep going on days when it’s tough?

      ___________

    Elizabeth V. PicElizabeth Veldboom is a 2009 graduate from The Garden School, and a student in Jerry B. Jenkins Christian Writers Guild. She has previously been published in places like Chicken Soup for the Soul: The Magic of Mothers and Daughters, and CBN.com. She has a huge heart for homeschooling families and would love connecting with you, so visit her blog anytime at http://www.thefearlist.wordpress.com.

5 comments on “You Homeschooling Types

  1. Ashly says:

    Love this post! This is very encouraging for a beginner homeschooling parent.

    • Lizzie says:

      I’m so glad it could encourage you, Ashly! 🙂 Let me know if you ever need a pep talk-it can be scary first starting out. And please let the other moms on here know if you ever have any questions-that’s what we’re here for! 🙂

      It was great meeting you, and I hope we’ll get to see you around again soon!

      • Jacqui Edelmann says:

        Thanks Lizze! Getting affirmation from grads is what helps strengthen me through the long days. Very touching.

    • Jacqui Edelmann says:

      My second and last child is graduating high school in the spring. It hasn’t always been easy, balancing homeschool and Garden School, but its produced 2 remarkable human beings. If I could change anything in their educational experience…….I wouldn’t. 🙂

      • Lizzie says:

        Thank you so much for your comment, Jacqui! It’s true-I know many, many grads who feel the same. You teachers/moms are such a huge blessing, and I love that we can now hopefully be an encouragement for you as you all were for us! 🙂

        Oh-and if I could “like” your second comment as on Facebook, I totally would!

Leave a Reply

