Books, Glorious Books!

    By Monica Cappelli

books[1]There’s just something about books. The weight, the texture, the smell. The feeling that they’ve been thumbed through before. The stimulation derived from communicating with great minds across the ages.

I am an avid Bookie. My children have inherited that passion, so some areas of our home are rather overrun with tomes from days gone by. All kinds of fiction, nonfiction, and those curious creations, Historical Fiction (how does one classify these?!)

A few years ago I was given a Kindle eReader (love it!) But still, my predilection for paper often gets the best of me. I’ve visited amazing libraries and bookstores over the years in many parts of the world. I’ve also visited countries where bookstores and libraries are extremely difficult to find, and literacy takes a backseat to more pressing concerns of life. That, to me, is terribly sad. Of all places on earth, those are where people have the greatest need for great ideas.

Still, while many tourists visit museums and famous sights, I hunt for the local bookstore or library. There, I meet real people: the locals, who are so often curiously similar to the characters dwelling within the bound pages.

If I were to write a book of my life, most of it would be about reading!

As a youngster I read copious amounts of literature, encyclopedias, as well as the dictionary to escape to worlds of wonder populated by both real and fictional heroes, villains, and my own imagination. During middle school and high school I discovered books were the gateway to broader horizons with subjects I would never learn about in school, but could plumb to my heart’s delight at the library.

Even now, my heart thumps with the same enthusiasm as my little girl when we call “Library Day!” Nowadays we declare Library Day rather liberally; some homeschool days start at the library and end when our eyes are crossed with fatigue. You see, I really am addicted-three hours of labor during my last pregnancy were spent at Borders! I didn’t leave until I really had to (when other patrons began displaying sympathetic labor pains.)

Some of my favorites?

From my elementary years:

Who Will Comfort Toffle?
The King’s Stilts
Hilty: The First Hundred Years

In junior high:

All Tolkien – everything he ever wrote.
Til We Have Faces
Tarzan
Gone With The Wind

In high school:
Sister Carrie
Pride and Prejudice
Dracula
Jane Eyre
Ethan Frome
Atlas Shrugged
East of Eden
The Count of Monte Cristo

Recently:

The Kite Runner
Unaccustomed Earth

All of Francine Rivers’ novels.

What are some of your favorite books or authors?

    ______________________

    Monica Blog PicMonica Cappelli is a wife and the mother of four wonderful children. Over the years her family has been blessed to experience home, public, private, and parochial schooling. This has given Monica an appreciation for the strengths and challenges of the educational choices available to families. A successful experience is possible in any of these situations with the support of community and prayerful, encouraging parents. Monica strongly believes that parental academic expectations and “leadership by example” in the areas of competence, autonomy, and service set the stage for a young person’s entrance into a successful, joyful, and productive adulthood.

7 comments on “Books, Glorious Books!

  1. Shilo Bartlett says:

    Monica, I too am a fellow “bookie” and can’t get enough of them! All of my “dream houses” have huge libraries in them – you have hit the fabled nail on the head – bravo to the printed book!

    • Monica Cappelli says:

      So nice to meet another “Bookie,” Shilo! Can you recommend one of your favorite books that others, kids or adults, might enjoy?

      One book I read recently, “The Underneath,” is a fabulous dreamy read-aloud for upper elementary and middle school students. It’s poetic, deep, sometimes lighthearted or sad; but I couldnt put it down – borrowed it twice from the library already…

  2. Lizzie says:

    Thank you so much for sharing, Monica!

    “The Count of Monte Cristo” is one of my all-time favorites as well! I have “East of Eden” waiting on my bookshelf, and after seeing “Jane Eyre” the movie I realized I *had* to read the book. So those are both on my “To Be Read” list!

    But about my favorite books or authors, haha… Get ready-you asked! 😉

    1) I pretty much love all of Bodie and Brock Thoene series, and some of my favorites are the “A.D. Chronicles” (Jesus’ life and times) and the “Zion Covenant” (WWII) series.

    2) Liz Curtis Higgs’ “Thorn in my Heart.” (A retelling of the Biblical stories of Rachel, Jacob, and Leah.)

    3) “To Die For” by Sandra Byrd. (Sandra used to be my mentor through the Christian Writers Guild, and “To Die For” is one of my absolute favorites. It’s a novel about Anne Boleyn as told through the eyes of one of her lady’s maids. There’s also two others after that- “The Secret Keeper: A Novel of Kateryn Parr” and “Roses Have Thorns: A Novel of Queen Elizabeth I.”)

    4) “Deceit,” “Over the Edge,” and “Gone to Ground” by Brandilyn Collins. (All stand-alone novels.) Some of her books can get pretty grisly, but you know how sometimes you watch a movie and at the end you go, “I never saw that coming?” That’s how her books are. I’m rarely able to figure out “Whodunit” in her books and am always up for tons of suspense and twists. I love the challenge of trying to figure it out and usually ending up surprised anyway when I read her stuff.

    5) “Forbidden” and “Mortal” by Ted Dekker and Tosca Lee. Hard to explain, but it’s kind of a dystopian fiction/allegory about Jesus. It focuses on a world where a virus has infected mankind so that they no longer know any kind of emotion except fear so that those in power can control them. It’s pretty clever how they work in the allegory about Jesus, and is a definite page-turner!

    6) And finally, haha. “Short-Straw Bride” and “Tailor-Made Bride” by Karen Witemeyer. (Same series, but stand-alones.) These ones are really light reads, but they’re good for days when you can’t handle anything too deep. Humorous and great characters!

    So there you have it! 🙂 That’s my current running list of absolute favorites. Although, there is plenty of room for more. 😉

    • Monica Cappelli says:

      Sounds like we’ve found another Bookie! Lizzie, I think I’ll have to try Brandilyn Collins…I just can’t resist a good “whodunit.”

      • Lizzie says:

        Whatever was it that gave me away? 😉

        You definitely should! I think you’d really like her. To start out with, I’d suggest maybe “Gone to Ground” or “Deceit,” which is only $6.64 on Kindle right now! Both are excellent and tough to figure out.

      • Monica Cappelli says:

        I’ve just downloaded a sample of “Deceit” and will check it out at bedtime tonight.

  3. Lizzie says:

    Very cool! You’ll have to let me know what you think. 🙂 (And no worries-I won’t be offended if you don’t like it, haha.)

Leave a Reply

